Eggless chocolate cake.

We celebrated our baby D’s  6-month birthday (half birthday as my mom likes to call it) a few days back. I wanted to make it special to overcome the guilt of spending less time with her. She is in this awesome,professional learning school daycare facility for good 10 hours, 5 days a week and  I am always feeling guilty about it. But now since I have decided to enjoy the small little moments and cherish those, this was an excellent opportunity to start. This girl is growing up really fast and I wanna make the most of it.

I decided to bake a special cake for. I have NEVER EVER baked before this. My only experience with anything bake related is, eating the baked goods:) Now, since we are pure-vegetarians and like most of the vegetarians in India, that means we don’t even eat eggs, I decided to bake an eggless chocolate cake. I googled for good 2 hours and ultimately came up with the recipe which suited my family’s taste. I did not stick to any particular one, just a lil of this and a lil of that.

I must say, baking is pretty easy and fun. It was a pleasant learning experience. Here’s the final result of my first time attempt at baking.

DSC_0423

Excuse the immature photography skills. I am still learning that! See… how zealous I am about learning…

My recipe:

Eggless Chocolate Cake
Author: Neetika
Recipe type: Dessert, Cake
Prep time:  5 mins
Cook time:  25 mins
Total time:  30 mins
Serves: 7
Ingredients
  • All Purpose Flour – 1 cup
  • Baking Powder – ½ tsp
  • Baking Soda – 1 tsp
  • Unsweetened Cocoa Powder – 6 tbsp
  • Granulated Sugar – ¾ cup
  • Vegetable oil – ½ cup ( I used sunflower oil)
  • Milk – ¼ cup, room temp
  • Milkmaid – 1/4 cup
Chocolate Icing
  • Heavy Cream – 1 cup
  • Semi-sweet chocolate – ⅓ cup (I used Hershey’s)
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F, 10 mins before baking. Lightly grease the cake tin with vegetable oil and sprinkle all purpose flour on it. Tap the tin and get rid of the excess flour. This helps in getting a clean cake out of the tin.
  2. In a large bowl sift together the all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, cocoa powder and sugar. Make a well.
  3. Add all the wet ingredients one by one.
  4. With an electric mixer, beat the mixture on low speed for 2-3 minutes until the dry and wet ingredients are well combined. Do not over beat it.
  5. Pour the batter in the prepared pan. Tap the pan a couple of times so the batter is spread evenly and there are no air bubbles.
  6. Bake for about 30 min. Check the cake with tooth pick. Toothpick inserted in the middle of the cake should come clean when the cake is ready.
  7. Once out of the oven, transfer the pan to a wiring rack to cool. After it cools down, remove it on the serving dish.
  8. For icing – Bring the heavy cream to boil. Pour it over the semi-sweet chocolate in a bowl and mix well. All the chocolates should melt well and you should have a thick chocolate icing.

Pour it over the chocolate cake.

Cake is ready to serve.

 

Note: I had to take a few breaks in between the baking process since my daughter was with me home. I believe that’s why the cake looks more like browny and less like cake 🙂 Don’t be discouraged by the pic:)

Leave a Reply

